

The Architectural Conservancy of Ontario ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF THE MEMBERS Saturday June 25,2022 TIME: 10:00 am EDT

In-person: Eben Rawluk (Treasurer), Don Holland, Richard Longley, Suzanne Kavanagh, and Leslie Thompson

Virtual: Marc Seguin, Mary Walton, Diane Chin (Chair), Don Macintosh, Bill Greaves, Marlee Robinson, Elizabeth Sonnenburg, Jamie Laidlaw, Tammy Dewhirst, Marg Rowell, Alysson Storey, Robert Shipley, Alison Conway, Robin Zettel, Patricia Milne, Debra Crawford, Colin Johnston, Dan Schneider, David Emberly, Kae Elgie, Roberta Harmon, Alex Sostar, Deb Crawford, Sarah Shepard, Reno Piccini

Staff: Will Coukell, Alex Mackinnon, Ali Talpur and Tai So

Guests: Scott Vloett: Vloett &Kan LLP, Jim Sharrat: Ministry of Heritage, Sport, Tourism and Culture Industries

1. Welcome

- Chair called the meeting to order at 10:03 am and gave a land Acknowledgement
- No conflicts of interest

2. Approval of Agenda

No questions and no objections

Moved by David Emberly, seconded by Dan Schneider that the agenda be approved. CARRIED.

3. Approval of Minutes of 2020 AGM

No questions and no objections

Moved by Leslie Thompson, seconded by Eben Rawluk that the Minutes of 2021 AGM be approved. CARRIED.

4. Business Arising from the Minutes

None

5. Reports

5.1 Chair's Report

Chair spoke about 4 things she will be working on going forward – report attached

5.2 Treasurer

5.2.1 Approval of the audited financial statements for 2021

- David Emberly asked if there was plan to address the yearly deficit, Eben Rawluk responded that it is front of mind and the committee will be set up to look at a 5 year plan
- David Emberly asked who owns the SheaveTower, the COO explained that the property is owned by ACO as a whole, the branches are not a legal entity but rather members of ACO. Moved by Eben Rawluk, seconded Leslie Thompson that the audited financial statements for 2020 be approved. CARRIED.

5.2.2 Appointment of the auditor for 2021 audit

- Eben Rawluk thanked Scott Vloet for his work on the audit
- There were no questions and no objections
- Scott Vloet said that using Dropbox was a 'game changer' and made things go much quicker
- Leslie Thompson asked if ACO would review other auditors at some point, Eben Rawluk replied that a 5 year plan will be considered at the financial meeting
- Scott Vloett exited the meeting so the motion could proceed Moved by Eben Rawluk, seconded by David Emberly that the appointment of Vloet and Kan LLP as auditor for the 2022 audit be approved. CARRIED.

5.3 COO's Report

 COO said that the internal process for the audit has been improved and thanked staff, branches and the auditors, this was the first time in 90 years that government documents were prepared on time

6. Election of Board

6.1 Nominating Committee Report

• The committee is looking specific skills and BIPOC members

6.2 Election of new members of the Board

Motion 1: Whereas the Architectural Conservancy Ontario (ACO) regards its governance and leadership practices as both critical to the fulfillment of its mandate and the sustainability of its relationships with stakeholders, and as a member-based organization, ACO's Bylaw and associated legislation call for the approval of Elected Directors by the membership, I move that the following people be approved as Elected Directors of Architectural Conservancy Ontario:

Chair: Diane Chin Past Chair: Kae Elgie Treasurer: Eben Rawluk

Directors-at-large: Doug Evans, William Greaves, Marlee Robinson, Sarah Shepherd, Alex Sostar

Moved by Kae Elgie

Seconded by Marlee Robinson Questions and objections : none

CARRIED

Motion 2: That the ACO board and membership extend its gratitude to Jocelyn Kent and Jean Haalboom board for their six years of service to the organization, Jocelyn Kent as NextGen Committee Chair and Corporate Secretary, and Jean Haalboom as Policy Committee liaison to the Board.

Moved by Kae Elgie Seconded by David Emberly Carried.

MOTION 4: That the ACO board and membership extend its continuing gratitude to Leslie Thompson for the work she did and the expertise she shared to establish a sound governance framework for ACO.

Moved by Kae Elgie Seconded by David Emberly Carried.

7. New Business

None

8. Adjournment of business meeting

• Chair moved adjournment at 10:42 am